Learn About Berkeley · Budget Agenda Scan

Council Budget Scan — September 15, 2026 FINAL AGENDA · PROPOSED

Every budget, spending, revenue, and fiscal-impact item on the certified agenda for the first council meeting after summer recess.

Scan date: August 31, 2026 (draft) · Updated September 8, 2026 against the final agenda certified Sept 3, 2026 · Meeting: Regular Meeting, Tue September 15, 2026, 6:00 p.m. · 21 items reviewed (draft Item 17, transformer-undergrounding public hearing, was dropped; later items renumbered)
Status: Every item below is PROPOSED (pre-vote). First scanned from the draft agenda at the Agenda & Rules Committee on August 31, 2026; re-checked September 8 against the final agenda certified September 3, 2026. All dollar figures are unchanged. One change: the draft's Item 17 (public hearing on a transformer-undergrounding ordinance) does not appear on the final agenda, and later items were renumbered — numbers below match the final agenda. Council has been in summer recess since July 29; this is the first regular meeting back (next: Sept 29). Items 1–20 are Consent; 21a/21b are Action. No public hearing. The Budget & Finance Committee's July 23 meeting was cancelled and no committee agendas are posted for the coming week.
$3.59M
New / amended direct spending
6 items, stated figures · High
$25.82M
RFP / bid issuance authority
Item 4, Various Funds · High
~$6.91M
Incoming revenue contracts
Senior services, FY27–30 · Moderate
$25.5M
Grant applications (potential)
Ferry pier $25M + Civic Center $500K · High caps
BucketAmountConfidence
New / amended direct spending — of which new contracts & purchase orders (Items 2, 6, 7)$3,320,827High
— of which contract amendment increases (Items 5, 8)$207,000High
— of which council-office discretionary allocation (Item 15)$65,000High
Planned RFP/bid issuance authority (Item 4) — not yet contracts$25,822,884High
Housing Trust Fund loan restructuring (Item 11) — principal combined, not new spending$970,603High principal · fiscal effect Unknown

A. Spending items

Direct city expenditure proposed for approval. All Consent Calendar unless noted.

#Title / vendorNew $TotalCategorySummary
2Contract — Downtown Berkeley Association (sole source)$150,000$150,000Economic Dev.Addison Street catenary lighting for the Downtown Arts District; also authorizes anchor points on the Center Street Garage.
4Formal Bid Solicitations & RFPs planned for issuance$25,822,884—Budget & FinanceAuthority to issue upcoming RFPs/bids, Various Funds. Contracts over the CM threshold return to Council for final approval.
5Amend — Fire Aside, LLC (32200227)+$150,000$410,000Public SafetyDefensible-space inspection & community chipper management software; term unchanged, ends 5/17/2028.
6Purchase orders — Bauer Compressors Inc.$1,579,472$1,579,472Public SafetyFirefighting supplies & equipment via NPP piggyback contract, 10/1/2026–3/4/2030 (option to 2031). Not-to-exceed.
7Purchase orders — Stryker Sales LLC$1,591,355$1,591,355Public SafetyLease of 10 gurneys, 10 power-load systems, 10 stair chairs, 12 mechanical CPR units for Fire response vehicles (Sourcewell contract). Various Funds.
8Amend — Easy Does It (32300207)+$57,000$307,000Health & Human SvcsAccessible wheelchair-van rides for the Berkeley Rides for Seniors & Disabled program, FY2027.
15District 1 office allocation — Gilman District Merchants Assn.$65,000$65,000Economic Dev.One-time capacity-building grant from CM Kesarwani's surplus office budget (fiscal agent: Berkeley Chamber); staff stipends, fair operations, safety grants.
Subtotal new/amended direct spending: $3,592,827 (High — all figures stated on the agenda face), excluding Item 4's $25.82M RFP/bid authority, which authorizes solicitations rather than spending.

B. Revenue, grants & financing

Incoming revenue contracts (Consent)
#SourceAmountCategorySummary
9Revenue Contract — MARU (Korean Community Center of the East Bay)$169,347/yr · FY27–30Health & Human SvcsGrant funding for senior Information & Assistance services; ≈ $677K over the 4-year term (projected annual amount).
10Revenue Contracts — Alameda County (Aging Nutrition, FY27–30)$696,800 + $860,515/yrHealth & Human SvcsCongregate + home-delivered senior meals; ≈ $1.56M/yr, ≈ $6.23M over 4 years (projected annual amounts).
Grant applications (revenue if awarded)
#ProgramUp toCategorySummary
1CA Strategic Growth Council — Community Resilience Centers planning grant$500,000InfrastructurePlanning for structural upgrades/seismic retrofit of the Maudelle Shirek and Veterans Memorial buildings (Civic Center); authorizes acceptance if awarded.
12MTC Regional Measure 3 — Safe Routes to Transit & Bay Trail$25,000,000InfrastructureConstruction of landside elements of the Berkeley Water Transportation Pier–Ferry project. Application only; award not guaranteed.
Loan restructuring (Consent)
#ItemAmountSummary
11Shattuck Senior Homes — Housing Trust Fund loan modification$970,603 + interestCombines two HTF loans into one; cuts interest 6% → 3% simple; extends maturity 55 years to 9/1/2082; waives the 20%-of-units-at-30%-AMI requirement (keeps 50%/60% AMI). No new appropriation, but reduces future loan-repayment revenue — magnitude not stated (Unknown).

C. Policy referrals & fiscal-adjacent items

#Sponsor(s)Named $CategorySummary
3City ManagerSee reportBudget & FinanceDissolve the Loan Administration Board (repeal BMC 3.72); City Manager takes over Revolving Loan Fund administration.
13Environment & Climate CommissionStaff timeEnvironmentSupport an SB 1221 neighborhood decarbonization pilot; commits a staff liaison. Pilot costs would be utility-funded (potentially >$20K/household in avoided gas-line costs, per the report).
14AuditorStaff timeBudget & FinanceWhistleblower special report on workplace-relationship policies; refers possible BMC nepotism/cronyism provisions to Agenda & Rules.
16CM KesarwaniStaff timeHousingReferral: comprehensive housing fee & parcel-tax study comparing Berkeley's development-cost burden with other cities.
17CM KesarwaniSee reportEconomic Dev.Referral: reduce permit discretion for vehicle repair uses in the M-RD district (BMC 23.206.020).
18CM TregubStaff timeEnvironmentResolution supporting AB 1761 (PCIA data-transparency; electricity-cost predictability).
19CM Tregub + co-sponsorsStaff timeEnvironmentResolution opposing coal/petcoke handling in the Bay Region; supports AB 40.
20CM TregubSee reportEconomic Dev.RENAISSANCE Part 2 referral: commercial-vacancy blight prevention (storefront subdivision, cold-shell prevention, performance bonds, warm-shell requirements).
21a/bCM Kesarwani / Peace & Justice CommissionSee reportPublic SafetyCompeting tear gas / OC-spray items continued from July 14 (21a: reinstate limited use; 21b: retain bans + commission a health study).
Item 16's fee study and Item 20's blight-mitigation framework are referrals that commonly lead to future staff costs or fee changes; no figures are named yet. The Agenda Committee's own action item — possible changes to the 2027 council meeting schedule (July vs. August recess) — has no fiscal impact.

Confidence & sourcing

High — explicit dollar figures quoted from the agenda face (Items 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 15; grant caps in 1 and 12; loan principal in 11).

Moderate — multi-year revenue totals for Items 9 and 10, computed as "projected annual amount" × 4-year term; actual awards may vary year to year.

Low / Unknown — the net fiscal cost of Item 11's interest-rate cut and 55-year extension is not stated; Items 3, 17, 20, 21a say "See report" with no figure on the agenda face.

Draft figures (Aug 31) were re-verified against the final certified agenda (Sept 3) on Sept 8, 2026 — no dollar changes.